Header Ads

"Black Panther" Officially Rated PG-13

Black Panther (2018) - Black Panther (Chadwick Boseman), Erik Killmonger (Michael B. Jordan)
The much anticipated Black Panther movie officially has a rating by the MPAA: PG-13.

The United States Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) has reviewed the movie and, according to FilmRatings.com, has given it a PG-13 rating for "prolonged sequences of action violence, and a brief rude gesture".  No idea what the "rude gesture" is. On the other hand, any movie with "prolonged sequences of action" works for me.

Is the PG-13 Rating for Black Panther Surprising?

This rating isn't surprising. Most of the Marvel films are rated PG-13. For example, Marvel's The Avengers (2012) was rated PG-13 for "intense sequences of sci-fi violence and action throughout, and a mild drug reference".

What is the Point of Movie Ratings?

The MPAA describes the purpose of film ratings this way: "Movies can open our children’s eyes to new places, cultures and ideas, and parents have an important role in ensuring that experience is positive and enriching. They need the tools to decide what movies are suitable for their children to watch. From understanding how movie ratings work and have evolved with the times to helping parents find movies appropriate for their kids, we want to help make movie-going a positive experience in your family’s life.

"Movie ratings provide parents with advance information about the content of movies to help them determine what’s appropriate for their children.  After all, parents know best their children’s individual sensitivities and sensibilities. Ratings are assigned by a board of parents who consider factors such as violence, sex, language and drug use and then assign a rating they believe the majority of American parents would give a movie.

"The ratings system was established by the MPAA in 1968. The Classification & Ratings Administration (CARA) hosts the rating board made up of an independent group of parents. CARA’s mission is to provide parents the tools they need to make informed decisions about what their children watch."

What Does the PG-13 Rating Mean?

The MPAA describes the PG-13 rating as "Parents Strongly Cautioned – some material may be inappropriate for children under 13". So if you're planning to take kids to see the movie younger than 13 you may want to make sure the material is appropriate.


Official Synopsis: "After the events of Marvel's Captain America: Civil War, King T'Challa returns home to the reclusive, technologically advanced African nation of Wakanda to serve as his country's new leader. However, T'Challa soon finds that he is challenged for the throne from factions within his own country. When two foes conspire to destroy Wakanda, the hero known as Black Panther must team up with C.I.A. agent Everett K. Ross and members of the Dora Milaje, Wakanadan special forces, to prevent Wakanda from being dragged into a world war."

Black Panther (2018) stars Chadwick Boseman as T'Challa / Black Panther, Michael B. Jordan as Erik Killmonger, Lupita Nyong'o as Nakia, Danai Gurira as Okoye, Martin Freeman as Everett K. Ross, Daniel Kaluuya as W'Kabi, Angela Bassett as Ramonda, Forest Whitaker as Zuri, Andy Serkis as Ulysses Klaue, Florence Kasumba as Ayo, John Kani as T'Chaka, Winston Duke as M'Baku / Man Ape, Letitia Wright as Shuri, Sterling K. Brown as N'Jobu, Isaach de Bankolé, Nabiyah Be as Tilda Johnson, Sydelle Noel as Xoliswa, and Atandwa Kani.
Directed by Ryan Coogler
Screenplay by Joe Robert Cole and Ryan Coogler
Music by Ludwig Göransson
Cinematography by Rachel Morrison
Production design by Hannah Beachler

Black Panther (2018) is scheduled to be released February 16, 2018 (United States)
Reserve your tickets to see Black Panther!

What do you think of the Black Panther Movie rating?

If you enjoyed this, then please use the buttons below to tell your friends about this post! Follow us! Email | RSSTwitter | Facebook

No comments

Thanks for commenting!.