Header Ads

"Justice League", "Thor: Ragnarok" and More Under Consideration for Oscar

Justice League and Thor: Ragnarok are among several superhero and science fiction movies under consideration for an Oscar. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the 20 films selected to move forward in the visual effects category for the 90th Academy Awards. The genre films are listed in alphabetical order below:

  • Alien: Covenant
  • Blade Runner 2049
  • Ghost in the Shell
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  • Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle
  • Justice League
  • Kong: Skull Island
  • Life
  • Logan
  • Okja
  • Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales
  • The Shape of Water
  • Spider-Man Homecoming
  • Star Wars: The Last Jedi
  • Thor: Ragnarok
  • Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets
  • War for the Planet of the Apes
  • Wonder Woman
Of the movies under consideration, DC's Wonder Woman and Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, Thor: Ragnarok and Spider-Man Homecoming are all blockbuster hits. Several other films like Life and Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets bombed but made the cut. Justice League, which is still struggling at the box office, is on the list as well. After Scarlett Johansson was cast in the lead Ghost in the Shell was buried under complaints of racially insensitive casting. But it got a potential nomination too.

Three of the films haven't opened yet. Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle opens December 20, The Shape of Water openes this Friday and Star Wars: The Last Jedi opens December 18.

While Marvel Studios films have several Oscar nominations, they haven't won any. Doctor Strange (2016), Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014), Guardians of the Galaxy (2014),  The Avengers (2012), Iron Man (2008), and Iron Man 3 (2013) were all nominated for Visual Effects awards but lost. Despite the setbacks to the DC Extended Universe, Suicide Squad (2016) won Best Makeup and Hairstyling.

The Star Wars franchise is already an Oscar winner with the original 1977 film alone winning six awards. In fact, every Star Wars movie has gotten at least one Oscar nomination. The Force Awakens was nominated for five but didn't win any. While the prequels all got nominations, none of them won. So, the last Star Wars movie to win an Academy Award was Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi (1983). The Last Jedi could break the streak.

The Academy's visual effects branch executive committee determined the preliminary shortlist. But they won't select the 10 films to advance to nominations until voting later this month.

The 90th Academy Awards will be broadcast live on March 4 at 8 p.m. ET on ABC


Who do you think deserves an Oscar from the list? What movies do you think have been snubbed?

If you enjoyed this, then please use the buttons below to tell your friends about this post! Follow us! Email | RSSTwitter | Facebook

No comments

Thanks for commenting!.